And Then What?

And Then What?

Detours of Life

Pentecost 10

 

If we are lucky, there is always that next step to take in life.  Even when life throws us a curveball and we have to detour around something, there is still that next step to take.  Often it can be a very difficult move and yet, it usually is a lesson we never saw coming.

 

Take for instance, my schedule for this series.  Life really messed it up royally!  I mean, I had it all laid out and things planned and then – wham!  I got detoured around my living.  The last two months have been somewhat chaotic but, if I am to be honest, also very educational.

 

For one thing, I discovered how strong I am.  I also discovered what really matters to me and how joy can be found in the most unexpected of places.  I underwent a journey, both figuratively and literally and when I least expected it, there was joy jumping up to kiss me.  Where I expected sadness, I found renewal.

 

Leonard Cohen wrote a song simply entitled “Anthem” and it reminds me of the ancient Chinese custom of breaking a pottery item and then refilling the cracks with gold.  I once was in a discussion group where a picture of such an antique bowl was shown.  Several simple saw a broken piece of pottery and thought it should have been tossed.  They wanted perfection.

 

Life is not perfect.  Our living will have its cracks and dents.  Leonard Cohen wrote:  “Forget your perfect offering.  There is a crack in everything; there is a crack in everything – That’s how the light gets in.”  We can, however, follow the detour and learn from it, filling those cracks and dents with lessons that are golden in how they prepared us for the next step.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

